Home Page


Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, 
responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

Governing Body's Annual Statement

The Issues faced and addressed by the Governing Body over the last year were:

  • Understanding changes to and preparation for Ofsted inspection and responding to its recommendations
  • Continued to ensure that the Head Teacher and SLT were supported in their roles
  • Attended key assemblies and events across the school year
  • Took part in monitoring of teaching & learning through 'Book Looks' and moderation activities
  • Changes to School Self Evaluation and Development Planning
  • Investigation and decision making regarding term time holiday requests


The impact of the Governing Body on the school was:

  • Governors knowledge of data and assessment systems enables Governors to provide further support and challenge to school provision
  • The pupil survey confirmed that children feel safe, enjoy school and the experiences they have in lessons and feel that they are taught well.
  • As a result of Governors clarifying stakeholders views, Governors are very clear in being able to support school to determine next steps of development.

Structure of the Governing Body and Committees

The Chair of the Governing Body is Mr M Young and the Vice Chair of the Governing Body is Ms F Swindell


The Governing Body’s structure and membership is outlined in the table below and within that structure it has the following committees:


Committee Name of Chair
Staffing & Finance Ms F Swindell
Curriculum & Pupil Outcomes Mr B Weites
Building, Premises, Health & Safety Mr M Young
Headteacher Performance Management Mr M Young


Governor Category

Appointed by

or Elected

Start Date Expiry date Date Stepped Down

Governance role in 

other Educational Establishment

Susanna Buckley Staff Appointed 03/10/2016 02/10/2020 N/A No
Sarah Campbell Headteacher Ex-officio by virtue as Headteacher     N/A No
Terry Furlong Associate Member   03/10/2016 02/10/2020 N/A No
Claire Hawkes Co-opted Appointed 21/01/2020 21/01/224 N/A NO
Barbara Herring Co-opted Appointed 08/02/2016 07/02/2020 N/A No
Richard Stephenson Staff Elected 10/10/2016 09/10/2020 N/A No
Fiona Swindell Local Authority Appointed 03/10/18 02/10/2021 N/A No
Byron Weites Parent Elected 21/10/2016 20/10/2020 N/A No
Ingrid Whitworth Parent Elected 21/10/2016 20/10/2020 N/A No
Michael Young Co-opted Appointed 09/02/2015 25/1/2023 N/A No



Governor Any personal relationships with staff members in school or within the governance structure

Business & Pecuniary Interests

Indirect Interests Attendance at Full Governing Body meetings  
Susanna Buckley No No Staff 5/5  
Sarah Campbell No No Staff 5/5  
Terry Furlong No No Staff 5/5  
Barbara Herring No No No 4/5  
Richard Stephenson No No Staff 5/5  
Fiona Swindell No No No 4/5  
Byron Weites No No No 4/5  
Ingrid Whitworth No No No 4/5  
Michael Young Yes No No 5/5